Willingdon prize


Governor General and Lady Willingdon of Ontario instituted the Willingdon Arts Competition in music, literature, painting and sculpture. The National Gallery of Canada conferredthe visual arts awards from 1929 until 1931, when the Willingdons left Canada. First recipient was Prudence Heward, for painting. Other winners include George Pepper and Frederick Varley splitting the painting award in 1930, Pegi Nicol Macleod in 1931 and Emanuel Hahn for sculpture in 1930. Source:"The Group of Seven - Art for a Nation" (1995), by Charles C. Hill Submitted by M.D. Silverbrooke, art historian and collector, West Vancouver, British Columbia.

Your data and time are valuable. There's a new web browser that considers your time and security as a top priority.

Download Brave Browser For Free!

Brave uses the latest in blockchain technology.

This ensures a higher quality and more secure experience. Learn more about this fantastic breakthrough.

Loads Content Up To 8X Faster

Because Brave blocks unwanted tracking scripts that run in the background, your browsing speed will be unparalleled.

Ultimate in Privacy & Security

Brave fights malware and prevents tracking, keeping your information safe and secure.