Ten american painters


Known as The Ten, a term assigned to them by members of the Press, this group of New York and Boston-based artists formed in 1898 and exhibited together to 1918. Led by J. Alden Weir, Childe Hassam, and John Twachtman, they withdrew from the Society of American Artists in order to focus on the quality of their exhibitions and also to rebel against the National Academy by artists who wanted to encourage a fresh approach to art to avoid mediocrity. Other members were were Frank Benson, William Merritt Chase, Joseph DeCamp, Thomas Dewing, Willard Metcalf, Robert Reid, Edward Simmons, and Edmund Tarbell. Source: AskART database

Your data and time are valuable. There's a new web browser that considers your time and security as a top priority.

Download Brave Browser For Free!

Brave uses the latest in blockchain technology.

This ensures a higher quality and more secure experience. Learn more about this fantastic breakthrough.

Loads Content Up To 8X Faster

Because Brave blocks unwanted tracking scripts that run in the background, your browsing speed will be unparalleled.

Ultimate in Privacy & Security

Brave fights malware and prevents tracking, keeping your information safe and secure.