Society of wood engravers


An international group of about seventy invited artists, they share the desire to promote the relief printing techniques of wood engraving through mutual encouragement, education and exhibition. The Society was founded in 1920 by a group including Philip Hagree, Robert Gibbings, Lucien Pissaro, Gwen Raverat and Eeic Gill, and shortly after they were joined by David Jones, John and Paul Nash, Paul Gauguin and Clare Lieghton. The organization, stressed by World Wars, now continues as a strong entity with regular exhibitions. Source: The Society of Wood Engravers,