Society of painters of the far west


Also known as the Society of Men Who Paint the Far West, this reference is to a group of early 20th Century eastern painters who traveled and worked in the American West. The earliest group of westward travelers were sponsored in 1910 by the Santa Fe Railroad and the American Lithograpic Company and the destination was the Grand Canyon of Arizona. Included were Elliott Daingerfield, Edward Potthast, Frederick Ballard Williams and De Witt Parshall. In 1912, they exhibited their paintings in numerous venues in the East. Included were many Grand Canyon scenes, and among the additional artists were George Inness, Jr., George McCord, William Ritschel, Thomas Moran and Joseph Henry Sharp. Source: William Gerdts, "Art Across America", Volume III, p. 170 (LPD)

Your data and time are valuable. There's a new web browser that considers your time and security as a top priority.

Download Brave Browser For Free!

Brave uses the latest in blockchain technology.

This ensures a higher quality and more secure experience. Learn more about this fantastic breakthrough.

Loads Content Up To 8X Faster

Because Brave blocks unwanted tracking scripts that run in the background, your browsing speed will be unparalleled.

Ultimate in Privacy & Security

Brave fights malware and prevents tracking, keeping your information safe and secure.