Royal ulster academy ulster academy of arts


An artist led organization to raise money to educate the public on contemporary and traditional art through exhibitions, it was founded in 1879 as the Belfast Rambler's Sketching Club. In 1930, it took the name of Ulster Academy of Arts, and in 1956, became Royal Ulster Academy. Unlike other United Kingdom Academies, the RUA has no permanent home. Membership is by peer nomination, and there are four levels: Academician, Senior Academician, Associate Academician and Honorary Member. Academician members include Neil Shawcross, Julian Friers, Helen Kerr and Elizabeth McEwen. Source: Royal Ulster Academy of Arts,