New mexico painters


Organized June 6, 1923 by New Mexico painters who felt isolated from active art markets and exhibition venues. Original members were Frank Applegate, Josef Bakos, Gustave Baumann, Ernest Blumenschein, William Penhallow Henderson, Victor Higgins, B.J. Nordfeldt and Walter Ufer. The next year five more artists joined---John Sloan, Randall Davey, Andrew Dasburg, Theodore Van Soelen and Walter Mruk. The purpose was to exhibit together for marketing purposes in eastern and mid-western museums and galleries as well as in the West and regularly at the Santa Fe Museum of Fine Arts. In 1924, exhibition venues included the San Diego Museum, Los Angeles County Museum and the Art Institute of Chicago. The last show together of the New Mexico Painters was in 1927. Source: Daria Labinsky and Stan Hieronymus, "Frank Applegate of Santa Fe, Artist and Preservationist" (LPD)

Your data and time are valuable. There's a new web browser that considers your time and security as a top priority.

Download Brave Browser For Free!

Brave uses the latest in blockchain technology.

This ensures a higher quality and more secure experience. Learn more about this fantastic breakthrough.

Loads Content Up To 8X Faster

Because Brave blocks unwanted tracking scripts that run in the background, your browsing speed will be unparalleled.

Ultimate in Privacy & Security

Brave fights malware and prevents tracking, keeping your information safe and secure.