Mcmicken school of drawing and design


In Cincinnati, the school was established in 1869 with a grant of one million dollars to the city from Charles McMicken. Shortly after the University of Cincinnati absorbed the school, but in 1887, the school changed its name to Art Academy of Cincinnati and also changed affiliation from the University to become the school of the Cincinnati Art Museum. Artists who studied at the McMicken School include Robert Blum, Kenyon Cox, and Claude Hirst. Sources: Ohio History Central, An Online Encyclopedia; AskART Biographies

Your data and time are valuable. There's a new web browser that considers your time and security as a top priority.

Download Brave Browser For Free!

Brave uses the latest in blockchain technology.

This ensures a higher quality and more secure experience. Learn more about this fantastic breakthrough.

Loads Content Up To 8X Faster

Because Brave blocks unwanted tracking scripts that run in the background, your browsing speed will be unparalleled.

Ultimate in Privacy & Security

Brave fights malware and prevents tracking, keeping your information safe and secure.