Mary smith prize


An annual prize of the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts, it had a one-hundred dollar stipend until 1960 and three-hundred dollars from that time forward. It was established in 1879 by Russell Smith in honor of his deceased daughter, who had been a student at the Academy and whose dying wish was an Academy prize in her name. The selection criteria was the best painting by a woman resident of Philadelphia regardless of the subject. Recipients include Susan Macdowell, Cecilia Beaux, Jessie Willcox Smith and Martha Walter. Sources: Stephanie Strass; Peter Hastings Falk, "The Annual Exhibition Record of the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts". (LPD)

Your data and time are valuable. There's a new web browser that considers your time and security as a top priority.

Download Brave Browser For Free!

Brave uses the latest in blockchain technology.

This ensures a higher quality and more secure experience. Learn more about this fantastic breakthrough.

Loads Content Up To 8X Faster

Because Brave blocks unwanted tracking scripts that run in the background, your browsing speed will be unparalleled.

Ultimate in Privacy & Security

Brave fights malware and prevents tracking, keeping your information safe and secure.