League - national league of american pen women


Founded in 1897 by journalists Marian Longfellow Donoghue, Margaret Sullivan Burke and Anna Sanborn Hamilton, the League of American Pen Women began as a ???progressive press union??? for the female writers of Washington, D.C. From its beginning the league welcomed artists, musicians, poets and teachers; however professional credentials in their field were required of all members. In 1921, with 35 branches in various states, the association changed its name to the National League of American Pen Women. In the ensuing years the League has hosted writing competitions, art exhibitions and special events to showcase the works of members and others. The NLAPW currently has over 120 branches in 36 states and is still headquartered in Washington, D.C. Source: National League of American Pen Women. Submitted by M.D. Silverbrooke.

Your data and time are valuable. There's a new web browser that considers your time and security as a top priority.

Download Brave Browser For Free!

Brave uses the latest in blockchain technology.

This ensures a higher quality and more secure experience. Learn more about this fantastic breakthrough.

Loads Content Up To 8X Faster

Because Brave blocks unwanted tracking scripts that run in the background, your browsing speed will be unparalleled.

Ultimate in Privacy & Security

Brave fights malware and prevents tracking, keeping your information safe and secure.