Joe plaskett foundation award


Created in 2005 by Canadian artist Joseph Plaskett, born 1918, it is one of the largest visual-arts awards in Canada. This annual prize of $25,000. is eligible exclusively to painters from across Canada who are studying for their Master of Fine Arts degree or who have just attained that degree and are deserving of support for a one-year residency in Europe. Plaskett's motive for creating the award was the life-long positive influence he received from the Emily Carr Scholarship he earned in 1946. Recipients include Vitaly Medvedovsky, Nam Duc Nguyen, Todd Tremeer, Ehryn Torrell, Jennifer Lefodrt, and Mark Neufeld. Source: