Jessie dow prize


Named after the 19th and early 20th-century brewing heiress, philanthropist and Governor of the Art Association of Montreal, the prize is awarded by the Art Association of Montreal [now Montreal Museum of Fine Arts] at their Annual Spring Exhibitions for excellence in oil, watercolor, and sculpture (added 1957). It is considered the most prestigious Canadian art award and, active from 1908 to 1965, the most long running. Among recipients are Leon Bellefleur, Frederic Marlett Bell-Smith, Helen McNicoll, Jack Shadbolt and William Brymner. In 2001, an exhibition of Jessie Dow Prize winners was held at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, February 3 to March 11. Sources: Canadian Association of New York; AskART database; and ???Canadian Men and Women of the Time: A Handbook of Canadian Biography of Living Characters??? (1912), edited by Henry James Morgan. Submitted by M.D. Silverbrooke