Irish exhibition of living art


Founded in 1943 in Dublin and continuing into the 21st century, it has, through annual exhibitions, been the major vehicle for introducing avant-garde art into Irish culture and to loosening the dominant grip of the traditionalists" promoted by the Royal Hibernian Academy. Early IELA members included Maine Jellett, Evie Hone, James Sleator, Louis le Brocquy and Sean O'Sullivan, and contemporary artists include Brian Maguire, Michael Mulclalhy and Michael Kane. Source: Online Encyclopedia of Irish and World Art,