Hugo award


A recognition given annually to illustrators for excellence in Science Fiction, it was named in honor of Hugo Gernsback, described as "The Father of Magazine Science Fiction" in a special award given to him in 1960. The sponsor is the World Science Fiction Society (WSFS), and award-winners are selected by a committee of that Society for work done the previous calendar year. Recipients include Fran Frazetta, Michael Wheland, George Barr and John Schoenherr. Sources:; AskART biographies (LPD)