Guggenheim fellowship


Intended as 'mid-career' recognitions, these awards are given to persons judged to have shown exceptional ability in the arts and/or scholarship. About 220 fellowships are given each year for a time period between six and 12 months. The average dollar amount of each one is $43,000, enough to insure a block of time free of preoccupation with making money. There is no stipulation as to how the award period is spent. The program began in 1925 with the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation. There are two separate competitions, Canada or the United States and Latin America or the Caribbean. Artist recipients include Robert Colescott, Emil Bisttram, Karel Appel, Peter Blume, Giorgio Cavallon and Walter De Maria. Sources:; AskART database

Your data and time are valuable. There's a new web browser that considers your time and security as a top priority.

Download Brave Browser For Free!

Brave uses the latest in blockchain technology.

This ensures a higher quality and more secure experience. Learn more about this fantastic breakthrough.

Loads Content Up To 8X Faster

Because Brave blocks unwanted tracking scripts that run in the background, your browsing speed will be unparalleled.

Ultimate in Privacy & Security

Brave fights malware and prevents tracking, keeping your information safe and secure.