Dallas nine


A group of regionalist painters, print makers, and sculptors who depicted the Southwest, especially Texas, they were active in Dallas, in the 1930s and early 1940s. Jerry Bywaters was their leading spokesperson. In numbers they were seldom 'nine' because the group expanded and contracted. Names most closely associated with the movement were ones who unsuccessfully lobbied the Texas Centennial Commission to decorate in 1936 the walls of the Hall of State, which was the main building of the Centennial Exposition in Dallas. Dallas Nine original members were Jerry Bywaters, Thomas M. Stell, Jr., Harry P. Carnohan, Otis M. Dozier, Alexandre Hogue, William Lester, Everett Spruce, John Douglass, and Perry Nichols. Others associated with the group were Charles T. Bowling, James Buchanan Winn, Russell Vernon Hunter, Merritt T. Mauzey, Florence McClung, Don Brown, Lloyd Goff, Dorothy Austin, Michael G. Owen, Allie Victoria Tennant and Octavio Medellin. Source:http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/print/DD/kjd1.html