Canadian society of painters in water colour


Founded in 1925 in the library of the Arts & Letters Club in Toronto, to promote watercolour painting and exhibitions, member names include Fritz Brandtner, Thomas Hodgson, Jack Shadbolt, Doris McCarthy and Pegi Macleod. Founding leaders were rebellious in their promotion of watercolour as a medium worthy of respect equal to oil painting, and included Frederic (Fed) Brigden, considered the Dean of Canadian watercolour, as well as A.J. Casson and Franklin Carmichael. Sources: website of Canadian Society of Painters in Watercolour; AskART database