American federation of arts


Initially a Washington DC based organization established in 1909 by an act of Congress, the Federation was founded to broaden public awareness and appreciation of the visual arts. Particular emphasis was placed on touring original works of art throughout the United States. Eventually the Federation was headquartered in New York City and provided traveling exhibitions to its member museums and galleries. Members include Harriet Frishmuth, Eanger Couse, Jane Peterson, Hugh Breckenridge, Cecilia Beaux, Louis Tiffany, John Biggers, Maynard Dixon, Anna Hyatt Huntington, Sources: John and Deborah Powers, "Texas Painters, Sculptors & Graphic Artists"; AskART Quick Facts

Your data and time are valuable. There's a new web browser that considers your time and security as a top priority.

Download Brave Browser For Free!

Brave uses the latest in blockchain technology.

This ensures a higher quality and more secure experience. Learn more about this fantastic breakthrough.

Loads Content Up To 8X Faster

Because Brave blocks unwanted tracking scripts that run in the background, your browsing speed will be unparalleled.

Ultimate in Privacy & Security

Brave fights malware and prevents tracking, keeping your information safe and secure.